The Noochy Noodle

a world beyond the blue box

Vegan Happy Hour – Amy Supreme

Every month I look forward to Vegan Happy Hour. I’m not a drinker myself, but I love hanging out with friends, meeting new people, and indulging in the potluck spread. If you’re in the San Francisco Bay Area this is an open invitation to bring a vegan dish and come hang out with a bunch of neat folks tonight at the Hemlock Tavern starting at 6 o’clock.

I usually try and bring some kind of bar-type food, so I thought that the Amy Supreme I had been lusting after since it was posted over at Don’t Eat off the Sidewalk would be perfect. I’ll admit, I made this a few Vegan Happy Hours ago, but I thought it was noteworthy, and finally deserved a post from my lazy butt!

It’s not exactly a recipe per se, it’s more like Guidelines For Noodle-y Success in which you add buffalo sauce, and seitan or tempeh to your macaroni and cheese, and then cover it with bread crumbs. I used the Creamy Macaroni and Cashew Cheese from Vegan Table, tempeh because I was short on time, and the wing sauce from DEOTS because it’s delicious.

Another admission: I had a terrible cold when I made this. I had ear infections in both ears. My tastebuds were completely shot, so I’m actually not entirely sure how it tasted other than good. I could barely even taste the buffalo sauce, which I’m told by non-infectious people was quite spicy. My friends said they like it, but who knows, they might all be liars. I’ll certainly be making it again, and I really want to make sure to try it with seitan next time!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

