The Noochy Noodle

a world beyond the blue box

The VegNews Scandal & Their Mac and Cheese Recipe!

In honor of the latest scandal to hit the vegan tabloids, I made the VegNews Macaroni and Cheese recipe for dinner last night! For those of you not in the know yet you can check out this post on Quarry Girl and be sure to read the VegNews non-apology apology here!

My take: eh, I had known about the stock photography thing for awhile, coupled with some other issues I have with the company, and just not being all that interested in the content meant that I hadn’t bought the magazine in a really long time. I do occasionally check it out in the bookstore so that I can read Laura Beck’s (of Vegansaurus!) column, because that woman is straight hilarious and never fails to get me laughing out loud.

Now, let’s not allow all of this  silly controversy ruin one of the best macaroni and cheese recipes available on the planet! You make it buy boiling some carrots, potatoes, and onions, and then blending it up with some cashews and other tasty ingredients. Then something magical happens that turns these ordinary and unlikely components into a thick, creamy sauce that is slightly tangy, and suprisingly “cheesy” in flavor. Bonus points, because it’s nutritional yeast free! Okay, I might slip a tablespoon or two of nooch in, but it really doesn’t need it! I make this recipe quite often, and it is truly one of my favorites.

Have a look:

Okay, I kid, I kid. Here’s the real photo:

Even if you have sworn off buying an issue of VegNews ever again you just have to make this recipe.

Has anyone else made it? What do you think?

17 responses to “The VegNews Scandal & Their Mac and Cheese Recipe!

  1. Alex April 15, 2011 at 8:47 am

    that photo you took is absolutely horrible and unfit for publication. you should have just used the stock photo, no one would have known.

  2. Megan April 15, 2011 at 8:49 am

    I totes agree, I read Laura’s column while I’m in the (massive) lines at Berkeley Bowl and other customers give me the evil eye for cackling too loud.

    Nom nom nom nom nom! Never made the recipe but heard good things, do want.

  3. lazysmurf April 15, 2011 at 8:54 am

    Ha! I wasn’t that impressed with the VegNews mac & cheese although it seems like everyone really loves it. I like a lot more nooch with my noodle.

    Have you tried Iggie’s Texitarian here in Austin?

  4. mihl April 17, 2011 at 11:42 am

    I can see that you photoshopped the bones out of your mac and cheese. Admit it!

    Awesome post. I just discovered your blog and really like it!

  5. Erin April 17, 2011 at 4:59 pm

    Funny! I made their mac n cheese and liked it, but personally felt like it could use a butt ton of nooch added 🙂 I subscribe to VegNews and may continue depending on what they end up doing about the whole thing, but it grosses me out to think that I’ve looked at meaty photos and thought that they were delicious vegan food.

  6. quarrygirl April 19, 2011 at 7:49 am

    that photo made me LOL (for real)!!

  7. Erin April 19, 2011 at 10:06 pm

    A+, would LOL again.

    I’ve never tried that recipe, it sounded too weird to be good and I’m disturbingly attached to my sack of nooch. But I might just try it now (it was that first photo that sold me).

  8. Bonnie June 3, 2011 at 6:24 pm

    LOVE LOVE LOVE the VegNews Mac & cheese. I make it for omnivores all the time and they rave. My fav vegan recipe, hands down!

  9. Monica October 11, 2011 at 10:11 am

    This is one of my favorite macaroni and cheese recipes, although it takes some time to do and I rarely have shallots hangin’ around my pantry. I’d like to see how good it tastes without all the margarine, just to make it a liiiiiittle healthier.

Leave a Reply

