The Noochy Noodle

a world beyond the blue box

Product Review: Amy’s Rice Macaroni with Non-Dairy Cheese

This is probably the third time I’ve tried Amy’s vegan mac n’ cheese. It has it’s positives, it’s made with gluten free pasta, and it’s soy free, it’s quick and convenient. However, it’s made with Daiya, which is something I can’t get past. I hate it every time I eat it, but I keep coming back. Why? I’m not entirely sure. I think I’m hoping I’ll eventually learn to love Daiya like a good vegan, or that this will one day taste something like the Stouffer’s mac & cheese of my childhood. Unfortunately, I don’t think either of those things are ever going to happen, so I’m just going to give it up now and save myself the $4 in the future.

Before it was even out of the oven (that’s right, I’m fancy!) I noticed that my kitchen was starting to smell awful; a little bit like feet and spoiled dairy. Not really a great first impression, but I’m always willing to believe something might taste better than it smells.

I didn’t want to be stuck eating all the mac n’ cheese by itself for dinner, especially at 520 calories a container (yeesh!), so I cooked up some Appetite for Reduction buffalo tempeh and collards to go along with it.

The first bite confirmed that it was just as bad as I remembered. The cheese sauce coated my tongue like Elmer’s glue (I mean, what I believe glue coating one’s tongue might feel like) and the overly strong artificial “cheddar” flavor was just as bad as the smell. I found I was holding my breath at times to avoid the stench. Overall, not a pleasant dining experience.

I think if you actually like Daiya and eat it often you might enjoy this product. As for me, I can’t really stomach it, so I’m waiting on something better to come along.

Have you tried Amy’s vegan macaroni and cheese? What did you think?

13 responses to “Product Review: Amy’s Rice Macaroni with Non-Dairy Cheese

  1. Kelly May 3, 2011 at 11:06 am

    I’m….actually a really big fan of it, of daiya AND this Amy’s meal. Daiya seems pretty polarizing among me and my friends, personally I think it’s awesome and delicious and has converted many a friend/parent/coworker to switching to nondairy cheese. In my vegan circle i’ve heard everything from praise to claiming it smells like feet, but for me and my many failed recipes that used Follow your Heart or whatever else, I think it’s better than sliced bread. I think it’s pretty easy to use too much of it, though, and it can get gooey if you replace it in a recipe in the exact quantity as regular cheese. I dunno. I’m a big Daiya fan :<

  2. lazysmurf May 3, 2011 at 11:15 am

    I’m with you it tastes like glue! At least you were smart enough to make sides! I had it for lunch by itself and was still hungry after all those damn calories.

  3. Kayla May 3, 2011 at 11:29 am

    I’m generally a fan of Daiya — specifically for pizza, not mac and cheese, in which case I prefer homemade cashew cheese — but there was one time I put too big a glob of it on…I think it was a chickpea “tuna” melt? Once melted, the Daiya very strongly resembled a giant orange booger. I ended up just have the “tuna” without the “melt”. Took me a while to get past that image and eat it again.

  4. Erin May 4, 2011 at 3:09 pm

    I love Daiya, but didn’t love the Amy’s mac when I tried it. I think Kelly is right above, there’s just too much of it. With less cheese-to-pasta it might not have that gluey texture?

  5. Pingback: Candle Cafe Frozen Mac n’ Cheese « The Noochy Noodle

  6. Monica October 11, 2011 at 10:05 am

    I agree that the texture is sticky and strange, but it tastes good enough for me with a sprinkle of lemon juice in it. Otherwise, it’s a tad bit underwhelming.

  7. Stacie April 24, 2012 at 7:54 am

    I can’t get past the calories, fat and carb count! Especially for something that doesn’t fill me up! I do think it tastes great though.

  8. Shellybean September 30, 2012 at 4:09 pm

    Wow, just goes to show that one really can’t rely on the opinions of others’ when researching a product. I appreciate the review, but I had a totally different outcome after tasting Amy’s Organic Rice mac & Cheese. I simply loved it! I had it for my very first time a few days ago, and I seriously can’t get it out of my mind. Now just for the record, I’m truly not a fan of Diaya cheese, what-so-ever. I’ve tried both the cheddar & moz shreds, and I have to force myself to eat it. But somehow, “Amy” just made this work in this particular recipe. And trust me, I know a good mac & cheese. It taste almost like a southern style baked mac & cheese. I also think it’s way better than that boxed Stouffer’s crap. However, I’ve always thought of that as garbage. Anywho, just my take on it. I surely hope that they don’t ever stop making this product!

    • Amara April 23, 2014 at 7:33 pm

      I agree with Shellybean. I rarely leave reviews on anything and I absolutely LOVED this! I am vegan but cheated with cheese for a few months while I was pregnant last year… When I was in the hospital for my son’s birth, I tried some of homestyle mac and cheese there and it wasn’t half as good! So happy I tried this… I’ve tried lots of cheese knockoffs but Daiya is the best, and this particular dish is definitely one of my new faves!

  9. renee sawyer November 17, 2015 at 4:46 am

    I absolutely love this product. The only problem is that it is very expensive for an extremely small portion and not filling at all. It tastes like real mac & cheese.

  10. Heather Elizabeth February 26, 2016 at 5:31 pm

    I agree with you….stinky feet and Elmer’s glue. I couldn’t finish it. I just wanted to eat something real instead. Oh well, the anticipation was fun. Knowing I could eat macaroni and cheese, and not be sick was exciting until I tried it.

    • Jaime March 26, 2017 at 8:47 pm

      Soooooo discusting. Glue and old feet. Nail on the head. Don’t know how anyone could even remotely like this product. I think if it were the last food on earth I’d rather eat leaves and dirt. Probably tastes better. YUCK

      And PS. I generally am a big fan of Amy’s meals

Leave a Reply

