The Noochy Noodle

a world beyond the blue box

The Noochy Noodle Visits Souley Vegan (1000 times)

Souley Vegan is one of my favorite restaurants in the Bay Area, and my absolute favorite  in Oakland. While I can never seem to make it across the Bay for things like friends, concerts, job interviews, weddings or other so-called important life things, if you so much as say a word about the aforementioned all vegan soul food restaurant, I’m there. I try to be adventurous since everything on the menu is fantastic but nothing beats a crispy tofu burger, mac n’ cheese, and potato salad combo. Sometimes I do switch the potato salad out with mustard greens if I’m not feeling carb-tastic…but it’s so hard to say no.

Mac and Cheese, Potato Salad, Crispy Tofu Burger

As for the mac n’ cheese; some sort of humongous rigatoni-type pasta stands in for the macaroni, but no matter, we’re not noodle purists here. The cheesy sauce is thick, creamy, and heavy on the nooch. I’ve been trying to figure out for a really long time how they make the sauce and I’m not any closer to figuring it out now than I was when they opened.  I’m thinking it’s possibly made with tofu? Overall, it’s nothing fancy, just incredibly comforting and delicious, exactly how mac n’ cheese was intended to be. If they sold it by the pound I would stock my newly aquired deep freezer with it.

7 responses to “The Noochy Noodle Visits Souley Vegan (1000 times)

  1. Panda With Cookie June 8, 2011 at 1:22 pm

    I loved Souley Vegan when I visited. And the mac and cheese. And the tofu sandwich. And the greens.

  2. Mean Kidney Dan June 9, 2011 at 12:15 pm

    i hate how they nickel and dime you for stuff, though. I REALLY have to pay 25 cents for a small thing of tartar sauce? REALLY? and they do that with EVERYTHING. I’m surprised they don’t charge you for water. Ridiculous.
    Also, the sauce is really easy to make:
    flour, nutritional yeast, garlic, earth balace. Experiment for the right amounts. Easy peasy. It’s the breading on the tofu i can’t figure out.

    • Kristen June 9, 2011 at 12:29 pm

      I think the breading on the tofu is a traditional southern fried catfish type recipe. I ate a lot of fried catfish growing up in Texas. Try googling something like that.

  3. veganhomemade June 12, 2011 at 12:12 pm

    TOASTY CRISPY! I probably haven’t had their mac as many times as you, but I feel like it might be a flour and nooch-thickened base, definitely with some garlic powder in there.

  4. Monica N June 20, 2011 at 7:40 pm

    Oh how I love this place! I was fortunate enough to catch their living social deal, but haven’t found the time to make the trip out there… its a long ride from SF! Their food is so incredibly good, even my meat eating parents joined in on the goodness, and couldn’t get enough.

  5. plantmade June 29, 2011 at 12:28 pm

    They used to sell the mac and cheese at Rainbow and from what I remember the ingredients didn’t include tofu, but definitely included nutritional yeast. My guess is there’s a roux involved. And I am a total noodle purist. I think changing the shape they use to something smaller would work better.

Leave a Reply

