The Noochy Noodle

a world beyond the blue box

Truffle Macaroni & Cheese from Source

Source is San Francisco’s newest vegetarian spot and a self described “multi-dimensional dining experience”. Whatever that means! To be honest, I was a bit concerned before they opened as San Francisco already has a vegetarian restaurant with an extensive menu serving up “mainstream international vegan/vegetarian food” and it’s not very good. Bay Area folks you know what I’m talking about! Fortunately, Source has far exceeded my expectations and is quickly becoming one of my favorite restaurants in San Francisco; it certainly helps that they serve up a gigantic piping hot bowl full of macaroni and cashew cheese. That earns you at least 4 stars on Yelp right off the bat.

The menu describes the mac n’ cheese as “Truffle Macaroni & Cheese w/ four cheese, truffle oil topped with agave bread crumbs”. However, there is a vegan and non-vegan version so I’m not sure if this version actually has four cheeses. It seems like it might only be three, but I don’t really care because it’s fantastic as is! It doesn’t mention it in the description, but there is a lot of garlic happening in this dish. A whole lot. It’s good, but you’ve been warned.  I love this mac n’ cheese because there are actually quite a few flavors and textures going on in such a traditionally simple dish. Since it’s so rich and such a large portion it’s not the type of mac n’ cheese I could eat all the time, but damn is it good! Bonus points for being served with a small baguette. Who doesn’t love a good carb fest?

Source is such a quirky place. You pay at the counter and then receive full table service, everything is ionized, filtered or purified within an inch of it’s life, faux meats on the menu are named after the sound that the analagous animal makes, and all the food comes on silly little trays, but you know what? It’s awesome! I’ve tried several other dishes now, including the Avocado Oink Bits Mozzerella Burger, Baked Vegan Spinach Artichoke Fondue, the Cluck and Artichoke Hearts, plus several of the desserts and have been awfully impressed with everything. Mark this place on your “must eat” list folks!

13 responses to “Truffle Macaroni & Cheese from Source

  1. Megan June 29, 2011 at 10:11 am

    I want to go to there! Tomorrow?

  2. plantmade June 29, 2011 at 10:26 am

    I see you got two sauces on top this time! I get confused with what’s standard on that mac n’ cheese. I do like the red pepper sauce or whatever it is. And I love that it’s rice noodles and you wouldn’t know it. Next time try the Peking Duck sandwich! It’s SO good!!

    • Kristen June 29, 2011 at 10:33 am

      the first time I had it without the extra cheeses I didn’t like it because it was oddly sweet. I’m totally into this version

      For it to be GF I would assume you would need to omit the bread crumbs?

  3. lazysmurf June 29, 2011 at 10:48 am

    Wow that look so amazing!!

  4. veganhomemade June 29, 2011 at 2:50 pm

    Source seems kinda weird, but I want to dive into that bowl!

    • Kristen June 29, 2011 at 7:31 pm

      Honestly, I feel like management almost strives to make it sound weirder than it is. The website is so odd. The place is pretty sterile, and a little cooky, but definitely not uncomfortable.

  5. Emma June 29, 2011 at 7:27 pm

    That looks awesome. THe topping is intriguing… if it’s not cheese or yogurt?! Total yumification! And I just love the sound of Oink Bits – that it so funny! I’m not vegan or veggie but I can’t do dairy so this mac&cheese would be perfect … just need a recipe now 🙂

  6. quarrygirl July 19, 2011 at 12:40 pm

    aaaaaaaah that looks so good! i can’t wait to go to SF and eat at source again. i’ve only been once, and i got the shepherd’s pie which was incredible. really solid spot!

  7. Pingback: Source & Gather « Vegan Homemade

  8. sophia September 16, 2011 at 11:15 pm

    i’m so glad i read this review. i never would have ordered it otherwise, and that was some damn good mac and cheese. thanks!

  9. Pingback: Treewool Vegan Knitwear | Vegans On The Move

Leave a Reply

